womanshouse UK art project 2016

IMG_0278 (1)

 

https://www.facebook.com/Katherine-Dixon-474895326048847/

I am doing an art installation that is a replica thought on a famous house in the 70’s called womenhouse in USA by a set of famous female feminist artists. I started this page as I am keen to research the thoughts of men and women of my generation what the word ‘feminist’ means to them.
My sons have taught me that I needed to drag myself into this generation as feminism to me meant… men opening doors, of course I didn’t want that to change! My boys were furious with me, telling me they were feminists, to my horror I thought only women were!! I am really crazy interested in what men and women of my decade think! After speaking to several friends of the same age they had the same thoughts as me.
The womenhouse I am doing is in collaboration with some amazing female artists Louise Ashcroft, Sue Tilley and more to name, where we will take over a house in London and take over our own rooms, as the womanhouse in the US, we will invite a ‘feminist’male artist too, all your comments will be printed out and used as wallpaper in an area of the house, I really hope when the house is ready to show you will all come, and any offers to join us would be amazing! thank you so much:))
love katherine xx

Womanhouse (January 30 – February 28, 1972) was a feminist art installation and performance space organized by Judy Chicago and Miriam Schapiro, co-founders of the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) Feminist Art Program. Chicago, Schapiro, their students and women artists from the local community, including Faith Wilding, participated.Chicago and Schapiro encouraged their students to use consciousness-raising techniques to generate the content of the exhibition.

Only women were allowed to view the exhibition on its first day, after which the exhibition was open to all viewers. During the exhibition’s duration, it received approximately 10,000 visitors.

Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 15.14.51.png

So really what does the word feminism today in 2016 mean to you? please ramble away:))

Leave a Reply

